How Mom and Dad Got Married


After a year and a bit of intense planning (I had a ring file and everything) it was finally 21 March 2007!  We chose this date as it was exactly our 3 and a half year dating anniversary, plus it was a Public Holiday (score)!  I had been longing for this day for so long and now it was finally here!

The night before was absolutely terrible, I “slept” in massive curlers in an attempt to curl my hair.  Who can really sleep in those things anyway!!  Despite my lack of sleep I was super happy!  I was so nervous in the morning I could not eat.  Not because I was nervous to dedicate my life to this man, but because I had to say my vows out loud in front of everyone and be the centre of attention (flash backs of utterly embarrassing English oral tests in Grade 4 came to mind – where I ended up crying and running out the room).

The bridesmaids and I got ready together at Seth’s parents house (where most of us stayed the night).  My beautiful bridesmaids were Zoë Kooyman, Romy Alfino, Mia Cook, Ashleigh Hegers and Jaclyn Ross.  My make up was done by none other than Cheryl Parker and a special thanks to Mia who did my hair for me!

(I’m not sure where Mia was for these pics)

Seth and his groomsmen got ready at Corne’s house (where they had spent the night).  His groomsmen were Corné Kooyman, Shane Clulow, Myles Adams, Carlo Van Der Venter and Simon Paton.

It was a good chilled time, although I was up till 2am making table numbers.  I don’t remember being nervous, just excited. Even Corne’s car breaking down just before we needed to leave had no effect. I think I was just in a daze.

Real Men Have a Braai In The Photo

Jump starting Corne's car

Arriving at the church and seeing all the millions of cars made my stomach turn.  But I kept my mind on the prize – Seth was waiting for me at the end of the aisle!  My pretty Sunday School girls helped hand out the “Ceremonty” sheets at the door (yes – Seth spelled it wrong and I didn’t even notice, nor did we notice that Mia was Mia Alfino and not Mia Cook).  My brother met me at the door to walk me down the aisle as my Dad was in a wheelchair.

When I arrived I obviously felt really cool. Like an Action hero getting out of his car and the camera first zooms in on his snake skin boots then moves up to capture his rugged masculine exterior. That all kinda changed when I almost cried like a little girl as Cindy came down the aisle. Though, I think the key word is ‘almost’, so I retained my masculine exterior.

First down the aisle to “Northern Lights” (the Cafe Del Mar version of the Lux song) was Joshua and Jenna looking gorgeous and blowing bubbles.  Then the rest of my ‘entourage’.

Then came my turn.  We chose the song “Too Young” by Nat King Cole.  We thought it was very fitting and also it was Ma and Pa’s song for each other so it added an extra bit of specialness!  The words are:

They try to tell us we’re too young
Too young to really be in love
They say that love’s a word
A word we’ve only heard
But can’t begin to know the meaning of

And yet we’re not too young to know
This love will last though years may go
And then some day they may recall
We were not too young at all

And yet we’re not too young to know
This love will last though years may go
And then some day they may recall
We were not too young at all

As we were walking down I saw my gorgeous husband to be, looking absolutely drop dead sexy in his suit.

At the end of the aisle, my Dad lifted the veil gave me a kiss and gave me away to my husband – thanks Daddy!!  The ceremony was done by Rev. Flo Visser.  Growing up, Uncle Flo was like a second Dad to me – even pulling out my first tooth (although I didn’t ask him to) ;).

Finally we were married!!!  Kiss, kiss!!!

Now to sign the registry (with our besties Corne and Zoe being our witnesses) and start celebrating with our friends and family!

Cindy forgot to mention that she scolded me as we turned to face the church, because I didnt smile like a freak and jump in the air screaming hooray. Then scolded me again and pulled me as we walked down the aisle and I accidentally stepped on her dress.  ‘Is this what it was going to be like?’ I wondered, but fortunately it only lasted for 4 years. Whats that? We have only been married for 3.5?! Oh, so it continues then.  Your bum!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “How Mom and Dad Got Married

  1. Hahaha. Total tears with the words of that song and then laughing at the end. “Your bum”. LOL!
    On another arb note, a bunch of my friends know Myles. How weird is that?! I’ve met him a couple times quite a few years ago but don’t know if he would remember me. But ya, a lot of my friends are good friends with him.

Go on, tell me what you think...