I Want To Do Life With You.


IMG_20140921_141744

There’s no skirting the issue that relationships (and marriage) are hard.

Having said that, do I think I’ve landed with my butt in the butter?  Abso-freaking-lutely.  

It’s not everyday that you get to wake up next to someone who encompasses all the things that you dreamed of having in a future partner.

Seth.  You are an amazing human being.  No really, stop blushing and hear me out.

You display how amazing you are daily in all big things – being an active parent, taking your fatherhood seriously and loving me unconditionally (I mean seriously – thank goodness for Roaccutane right?!).  These things are all great in theory (essential actually), but what really makes my heart go all aflutter is the little things that you do for us every day, making doing those “big things” possible.

When you want to go to a movie and switch off because of a long, hard day at work, but I want to go out and explore a new restaurant – my heart does somersaults when we pull into the parking lot outside a place we’ve heard a lot about but never tried.  

When the kids wake up way to early on a Saturday and despite being the early riser all week (so that you can get home to see us quicker), you still get up and see to them, letting me snuggle into those covers a bit longer.  

When you’ve read my mind and come home bearing a packet of Nik Naks and dark chocolate – to match the ones that I bought earlier that day.  Even when we’ve both decided to stop eating junk food.  

I could probably go on all day.

Considering that 11 years together is almost as many as we have spent a part, it would be safe to assume that we have done a lot of necessary growing – both as individuals and as a couple.  I am so very thankful that our growing has brought us even closer together.  We’ve dated, we’ve gotten engaged, we walked down that aisle and said “I DO”, we moved into our TINY bachelor flat, we adopted puppies, we moved again to the house that I had lived in since I was 2, we had a baby, we had ANOTHER baby really soon after that, we had so many sleepless nights I thought I might die from the tired, we had ANOTHER baby, we moved again to our forever home, we dealt with the lost of my father and we’ve made it through all the other big little things along the way.  It hasn’t always been easy, but it’s always been worth it.

What I really want to say is that 11 years later, so many things have changed, but there’s no one I’d rather do life with than you.

I love you.

xo

12 thoughts on “I Want To Do Life With You.

Go on, tell me what you think...