Almond Flour Banana Bread – Gluten and Dairy Free


Almond Flour Banana Bread

Sometimes I miss bread.  There I said it.

Although this bread may not be recommended with a good butternut soup, it is definitely the perfect mid morning snack with a cup of tea and you don’t even have to feel bad about it (sort of)!

There is no gluten or dairy, although there is a fair bit of sugar.  And if you’ve added chocolate chips (which I obviously recommend and encourage) then it makes it a bit of a treat – not something I would recommend eating all the time.  Although, that being said, I have made this twice and would be making it even more if I hadn’t run out of flour.  Time to get in contact with my dealer again I guess 😉

Happy baking!

xo

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 55 minutes

Ingredients(Makes 1 loaf):

  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour (apparently you could also use coconut flour although I have not personally tried it yet.
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup oil (vegetable or coconut – I used coconut oil that I melted first)
  • 3/4 cup light or dark brown sugar
  • 3 medium bananas, mashed(about 3/4 cup banana puree)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts(optional)  I loved the crunch that these added, although the kids did not approve.
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips(optional) Not optional – recommended.

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the almond flour, eggs, oil, sugar, mashed bananas, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, and salt until there are no clumps.
  3. Fold the walnuts, chocolate chips, or any other mix-ins you might want into the batter.
  4. Lightly grease a 5 x 10 or similar sized loaf pan and pour in the batter.  I used a silicone pan that I covered with coconut oil.
  5. Bake for 55 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.
  6. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before slicing. 

xo

2 thoughts on “Almond Flour Banana Bread – Gluten and Dairy Free

  1. You can substitute the sugar for xylitol, which would make it completely friendly! I would use about half the amount. I’m definitely keen to try this recipe! We have been banting for four months now and I still find bread the hardest thing to let go of. We regularly make linseed bread, but it isn’t a substitute for white bread! Can I get the details of your dealer? We currently buy all of our nuts, seeds and dried fruit from Yellow Submarine in Ottery, but I would be keen to compare prices with your person.

  2. I am definately going to try this. I wonder what the carb content is? Be interesting to know. We’ve been banting since Jan and have completely cut out bread, pasta, rice, couscous etc and i have to be completely honest in that I dont miss it!

    Would love the details of your dealer – could you mail me. Do you think they would deliver to the Eastern Cape?

    thanks for sharing.

Go on, tell me what you think...